Perspectives

UN Reform: Fix the Present – Not to Jeopardize the Future

The world must unite to build a common agenda that addresses the challenges of a fraught and dramatically changed geopolitical context. Indeed, the UN report “Our Common Agenda” and the 76th UN General Assembly offer the prospect for a revitalized...

Read more

International Expectations of the Next German Government

The results of the German federal elections are being followed closely around the world. Indeed, the policies of the new government will impact events far beyond Germany itself. Read what international experts Harlem Désir, Oby Ezekwesili, Dan Hamilton,...

Read more

Democratic Renewal Has Gained Real Momentum in Europe

Countering the illiberal trend in many countries, a spirit of democratic resistance is emerging across Europe, argues democracy expert Richard Youngs. There’s more direct democracy and new political parties focusing on democratic renewal. But the shift is...

Read more

Subsidy of the Global Food System Must Change

Without significant changes in our food systems, it will be impossible to feed the world's population sustainably. To meet the rising food demand and address impacts of climate change, we need a shift towards sustainable land use that protects the...

Read more

Germany Can Handle Crises - But Can it Also Handle AI?

Isolation is no answer to Germany's digital crisis. Instead of projects like Gaia-X, Germany should venture more into Cyber Valley to remain competitive. Otherwise, in the digital sector the export nation will be sidelined.

Read more

Introduced: María Fernanda Espinosa

María Fernanda Espinosa is a diplomat, politician, and academic from Ecuador. She was President of the 73rd Session of the United Nations General Assembly (2018/19), and served as Ecuador’s minister of foreign affairs, minister of cultural and natural...

Read more

Lunch Talk @Academy: Is a Food-Secure and Climate-Neutral World Possible?

How can we make a just transition into a food-secure and climate-neutral world possible? And which “whole of food system” answers are required beyond agricultural solutions?

Watch video

Rethinking Schools After the Pandemic: Meeting the Engagement Challenge

The pandemic compelled educators to integrate digital tools into the everyday academic lives of their students like never before. With the return to in-person instruction, educators have a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to further transform schools in ways...

Read more

Germans Should Not Expect the U.S. to Follow Their Climate Path

In order to achieve the 1.5 degree target, climate protection measures of the next 3 to 5 years will be crucial. The new U.S. administration has also recognized the seriousness of the situation and is acting accordingly. However, it will not take the same...

Read more

In Poland, Democracy Is Deeply Rooted

A conversation with Rafał Dutkiewicz about the logic of nationalism and populism, the value of European solidarity for Poland, the state of Polish democracy and the relationship with neighboring Ukraine.

Read more

Fallacies and Failures in the Western Perception of Russia (II)

Perceptions of Russia are one of the most successful myth generators that help legitimate the current Kremlin regime and build its favorable external relations. This tactic of generating fallacies about Russia has influenced the Western policy towards the...

Read more

A European-Style United Nations

For decades, multilateralism, built on a common overarching vision, has anchored Europe's longest-ever period of peace and stability. That alone should qualify the European Union to serve as a model for the UN’s renewal.

Read more

Introduced: Kumi Naidoo

Kumi Naidoo is a human rights and environmental activist from South Africa. He was Executive Director of Greenpeace International from 2009 to 2016 and Secretary General of Amnesty International from 2018 to 2020.

Read more

How Youths Unemployment Is Greatest Challenge Africa Faces

The unemployment conditions of youths in the African continent has been a huge debate around may global and business forums around the world seeking for solutions to tackle the problem.

Watch video

A Deep Dive on German Attitudes Toward Nuclear Arms, Ukraine, and Russia

Steven Pifer spent an eventful five months at the Robert Bosch Academy.    

Read more

Nord Stream 2: Background, objections, and possible outcomes

Nord Stream 2 is an almost-finished natural gas pipeline from Russia to Germany. The Biden administration opposes it and has come under congressional pressure to invoke sanctions to prevent its completion, in large part because the pipeline seems a...

Read from an external site

Rebuilding US-German relations: Harder than it appears

The German government and many Germans breathed a sigh of relief when Joe Biden defeated Donald Trump in November. All to the good, but rebuilding the U.S.-German relationship could well prove more difficult than it first appears.

Read from an external site

The Multiple Dimensions of Climate Change

Confronting climate change requires considering its environmental, economic and social dimensions. Read how Laurence Tubiana, Ottmar Edenhofer, Samantha Gross, and Leena Srivastava assess one of the most important challenges of our time.

Read more

Stronger Together: A New Agenda for Africa and Europe in 2021

Vaccinations against Covid-19 are under way in Europe and Africa, but progress is very unequal and the fight against the pandemic is not over yet. International cooperation is indispensable to face inequality and future global crises. How can the narrative...

Read more

Great Britain’s Long Search for a Role in the World

Brexit is a mistake that the UK will come to regret. The country’s illusions of greatness were outsized 65 years ago when it refused to join the founding members of the European Community. Now, it has made the same mistake again. Brexit is an empty...

Read more

Perspectives

UN-Reform: Die Gegenwart richten, um die Zukunft nicht zu gefährden

Die Welt muss sich zusammentun, um eine gemeinsame Agenda zu entwickeln, die den Herausforderungen eines angespannten und dramatisch veränderten geopolitischen Umfelds gerecht wird. Hierfür bieten der UN-Bericht Our Common Agenda  und die 76....

Weiterlesen

Internationale Erwartungen an die nächste Bundesregierung

Die Ergebnisse der deutschen Bundestagswahl wurden weltweit aufmerksam verfolgt. Denn die Politik der neuen Bundesregierung wird sich weit über Deutschland hinaus auswirken. Lesen Sie, was die internationalen Experten Harlem Désir, Oby Ezekwesili,...

Weiterlesen

Der Geist des demokratischen Widerstands weht durch Europa

Gegen den illiberalen Trend in vielen Ländern regt sich in ganz Europa ein Geist des demokratischen Widerstands, meint der Demokratieexperte Richard Youngs. Es gibt mehr direkte Demokratie und neue politische Parteien, die sich auf die demokratische...

Weiterlesen

Unsere Ernährungssysteme müssen anders subventioniert werden

Um den steigenden Nahrungsmittelbedarf auf der Welt zu decken und die wachsenden Auswirkungen des Klimawandels zu bewältigen, brauchen wir einen Umbau hin zu einer nachhaltigen und klimaschonenden Landnutzung. Ertharin Cousin spricht darüber, wie dieser...

Weiterlesen

Deutschland kann Krise – aber auch KI?

In der Krise ist Deutschlands Antwort in Europa: digitale Abschottung. Statt Projekten wie Gaia-X sollte Deutschland mehr Cyber Valley wagen, um wettbewerbsfähig zu bleiben. Sonst schießt sich die Exportnation digital ins Abseits.

Weiterlesen

Vorgestellt: María Fernanda Espinosa

María Fernanda Espinosa ist eine Diplomatin, Politikerin und Wissenschaftlerin aus Ecuador. Sie war Präsidentin der 73. Sitzung der Generalversammlung der Vereinten Nationen (2018/19) sowie ecuadorianische Außenministerin, Ministerin für das Kultur- und...

Weiterlesen

Lunch Talk @Academy: Is a Food-Secure and Climate-Neutral World Possible?

How can we make a just transition into a food-secure and climate-neutral world possible? And which “whole of food system” answers are required beyond agricultural solutions?

Video anschauen

Schule nach der Pandemie: Digitalisierung nutzen, um Schüler zu motivieren

Die Pandemie hat Lehrkräfte dazu gezwungen, digitale Tools mehr als je zuvor in den Alltag ihrer Schüler zu integrieren. Mit der Rückkehr des Präsenzunterrichts haben Lehrer die einmalige Chance, die Schulen weiter zu verändern, um digitale...

Weiterlesen

Deutschland sollte nicht erwarten, dass die USA seinem Klimakurs folgen

Um das 1,5-Grad-Ziel zu erreichen, werden die Klimaschutzmaßnahmen der kommenden drei bis fünf Jahre entscheidend sein. Auch die neue US-Regierung hat den Ernst der Lage erkannt und handelt entsprechend. Dennoch wird sie nicht denselben Ansatz verfolgen...

Weiterlesen

Demokratie hat in Polen tiefe Wurzeln

Ein Gespräch mit Rafał Dutkiewicz über die Logik von Nationalismus und Populismus, den Wert der europäischen Solidarität für Polen, den Zustand der polnischen Demokratie und das Verhältnis zu Nachbarland Ukraine.

Weiterlesen

Wie Russland von den Trugschlüssen des Westens profitiert (II)

Die Wahrnehmung Russlands im Ausland beruht auf einer erfolgreichen Mythenbildung, mit der sich das gegenwärtige Regime in Moskau legitimiert und vorteilhafte internationale Beziehungen aufbaut. Die Taktik des Regimes, Täuschungen und Irrtümer zu...

Weiterlesen

Vereinte Nationen nach europäischem Vorbild

Seit Jahrzehnten hat der Multilateralismus, der auf einer gemeinsamen übergreifenden Vision aufbaut, die längste Periode von Frieden und Stabilität in Europa verankert. Das allein sollte die Europäische Union dazu qualifizieren, als Modell für die...

Weiterlesen

Vorgestellt: Kumi Naidoo

Kumi Naidoo ist ein Menschenrechts- und Umweltaktivist aus Südafrika. Er war von 2009 bis 2016 Direktor von Greenpeace International und von 2018 bis 2020 Generalsekretär von Amnesty International.

Weiterlesen

Tiefe Einblicke in die Haltung zu Nuklearwaffen, Ukraine und Russland

Steven Pifers fünf ereignisreiche Monate an der Robert Bosch Academy in Berlin.  

Weiterlesen

Wo haben wir Platz auf der Welt?

Parag Khanna prophezeit in seinem Buch "Move" ein Jahrhundert der globalen Migration für alle – und findet das gar nicht so schlimm. Ein Gespräch mit dem indisch-amerikanischen Politikwissenschaftler.

Auf einer externen Seite weiterlesen

Die verschiedenen Facetten des Klimawandels

Um dem Klimawandel zu begegnen, muss man ökologische, ökonomische und soziale Faktoren berücksichtigen. Lesen Sie, wie Laurence Tubiana, Ottmar Edenhofer, Samantha Gross und Leena Srivastava eine der wichtigsten Herausforderungen unserer Zeit...

Weiterlesen

Großbritanniens lange Suche nach einer Rolle in der Weltpolitik

Der Brexit ist ein Fehler, den das Vereinigte Königreich noch bereuen wird. Schon vor 65 Jahren gab sich das Land Illusionen bezüglich seiner Bedeutung auf der Weltbühne hin, als es sich weigerte, zu den Gründungsmitgliedern der EU zu gehören. Nun hat...

Weiterlesen

Polarisiert euch!

Die gegenwärtige Diskussion über die Krise der liberalen Demokratie konzentriert sich auf das Phänomen der politischen Polarisierung. In Europa sind es aber eher die wachsenden Gemeinsamkeiten zwischen den Parteien, die zu einem Verfall der Demokratie...

Weiterlesen

Wie Russland von den Trugschlüssen des Westens profitiert

Der Westen hat Russland immer wieder falsch eingeschätzt. Hiervon hat Moskau profitiert und den Westen für seine Überlebensstrategie benutzt. Die westlichen Staaten müssen ihren politischen Ansatz von Grund auf überdenken, um die Entwicklung in...

Weiterlesen

Eine neue Agenda für Afrika und Europa in 2021

Die Covid-19-Pandemie hat erneut vor Augen geführt, dass internationale Zusammenarbeit unerlässlich ist, um gegen Ungleichheit und weltweite Krisen anzugehen. Wie kann hierbei das Narrativ über Afrika verändert werden – von einem Fall für humanitäre...

Weiterlesen