Topics: Foreign and Security Policy
Political Order and Governance (worldwide)
Regional focus: Russia and Eurasia
Origin: Russian Federation
Fellowship: Richard von Weizsäcker Fellow

Lilia Shevtsova is a Russian political scientist and expert on Russia’s and Ukraine’s domestic and foreign policy, and their post-communist transformation. She is an Associate Fellow at the Russia and Eurasia Program at the Chatham House in London and member of the editorial boards of American Interest, Journal of Democracy, and New Eastern Europe. Shevtsova is also a member of the boards of the Finnish Centre for Excellence in Russian Studies in Helsinki and the Liberal Mission Foundation in Moscow.

From 1995 to 2014, Shevtsova was Senior Associate with the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace and chaired the Russian Domestic Politics and Political Institutions Program at the Carnegie Moscow Center. She taught political science at Georgetown University, Berkeley University, Harvard University, as well as Moscow State Institute of International Relations, and was the director of the Center of Political Studies in Moscow. Shevtsova was also a member of the executive council of the International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) in London and founding chair of the Davos World Economic Forum’s Global Agenda Council on the Future of Russia. Shevtsova received the Estonian state order Cross of Terra Mariana for participation in the democracy promotion. The magazines Prospect and Foreign Policy list her as one of the 100 leading global intellectuals.

Shevtsova studied at the Moscow State Institute of International Relations as well as the Soviet Academy of Social Sciences in Moscow and holds an honorary doctorate from the University of St. Gallen in Switzerland. She authored and edited several books on Russian politics and has been contributing articles for leading journals and newspaper among others Foreign Policy, Washington Post, Le Monde Diplomatique, and El Pais.


Last update: 2020

Themen: Außen- und Sicherheitspolitik
Politische Ordnung (weltweit)
Regionale Schwerpunkte: Russland und Eurasien
Herkunft: Russische Föderation
Fellowship: Richard von Weizsäcker Fellow

Lilia Shevtsova ist eine russische Politikwissenschaftlerin und Expertin für Innen- und Außenpolitik Russlands und der Ukraine sowie die postkommunistische Transformation dieser Länder. Sie ist Associate Fellow des Russia and Eurasia-Programms von Chatham House in London und Mitglied der Redaktionsleitung der Zeitschriften „American Interest“, „Journal of Democracy“ und „New Eastern Europe“. Shevtsova ist auch Mitglied des Vorstands des Finnish Centre for Excellence in Russian Studies in Helsinki und der Liberal Mission Foundation in Moskau.

Von 1995 bis 2014 war Shevtsova Senior Associate bei Carnegie Endowment for International Peace und leitete das Programm für russische Innenpolitik und politische Institutionen am Carnegie Moscow Center. Sie lehrte Politikwissenschaften an der Georgetown University, der Berkeley University, der Harvard University sowie am Moskauer Staatlichen Institut für Internationale Beziehungen und war Direktorin des Zentrums für politische Studien in Moskau. Shevtsova gehörte dem Executive Council des International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) in London an und war Gründungsvorsitzende des Global Agenda Council on the Future of Russia des Weltwirtschaftsforums in Davos. Shevtsova erhielt den estnischen Verdienstorden Cross of Terra Mariana für ihr Engagement in der Demokratieförderung. Die Zeitschriften The Prospect und Foreign Policy listeten sie als eine der 100 führenden globalen Intellektuellen auf.

Shevtsova studierte am Moskauer Staatlichen Institut für Internationale Beziehungen sowie an der Sowjetischen Akademie der Sozialwissenschaften in Moskau und erhielt den Ehrendoktortitel der Universität St. Gallen in der Schweiz. Sie ist Autorin und Herausgeberin mehrerer Bücher über die russische Politik und hat Artikel für führende Zeitschriften und Zeitungen verfasst, unter anderem für „Foreign Policy“, „Washington Post“, „Le Monde Diplomatique“ und „El Pais“.


Stand: 2020