Topics: Environment and Resources
Regional focus: North America
Origin: United States
Fellowship: Brookings – Robert Bosch Foundation Transatlantic Initiative Fellow

Samantha Gross is a scientist and current Fellow at the Brookings Institution, focused on the intersection of energy, environment and policy, including climate policy and international cooperation, energy geopolitics and global energy markets.

Prior to this, she had been a Visiting Fellow at the King Abdullah Petroleum Studies and Research Center, where she authored work on clean energy cooperation and on post-Paris-Summit climate policy. As Director of Integrated Research at IHS Cambridge Energy Research Associates, she managed the IHS CERA Climate Change and Clean Energy forum and the IHS relationship with the World Economic Forum.

Apart from that, she held various posts in the U.S. government. She was Director of the Office of International Climate and Clean Energy at the U.S. Department of Energy. In that role, she directed U.S. activities under the Clean Energy Ministerial, including the secretariat and initiatives focusing on clean energy implementation as well as access and energy efficiency. Also, she worked at the Government Accountability Office on the Natural Resources and Environment team and as an engineer directing environmental assessment and remediation projects.

Samantha Gross holds a Bachelor of Science Degree in Chemical Engineering from the University of Illinois, a Master of Science in Environmental Engineering from Stanford University, and a Master of Business Administration from the University of California at Berkeley.


Last updated: 2020

Themen: Umwelt und Ressourcen
Regionale Schwerpunkte: Nordamerika
Herkunft: Vereinigte Staaten von Amerika
Fellowship: Brookings – Robert Bosch Foundation Transatlantic Initiative Fellow

Samantha Gross ist Fellow an der Brookings Institution und Expertin im Bereich Energie, Umwelt und Politik, einschließlich Klima-Politik, internationale Kooperation sowie Energiegeopolitik und globale Energiemärkte.

Zuvor war sie als Visiting Fellow am King Abdullah Petroleum Studies and Research Center tätig und beschäftigte sich dort mit der Kooperation im Bereich saubere Energien und Klimapolitik nach dem Pariser Abkommen. Außerdem koordinierte sie als Direktorin für integrierte Forschung der IHS Cambridge Energy Research Associates das IHS CERA Climate Change and Clean Energy Forum und die Zusammenarbeit des IHS mit dem Weltwirtschaftsforum.

Darüber hinaus war sie in verschiedenen Funktionen für die Regierung der Vereinigten Staaten tätig: Sie war Direktorin des Office of International Climate and Clean Energy im US-Energieministerium. In dieser Position leitete sie die amerikanischen Aktivitäten im Rahmen des Clean Energy Ministerial, einschließlich des Sekretariats und der Initiativen, die sich auf die Implementierung von sauberer Energie sowie auf Zugangs- und Energieeffizienz konzentrieren. Außerdem war sie im Government Accountability Office im Team für natürliche Ressourcen und Umwelt tätig und koordinierte Umweltbewertungs- und Sanierungsprojekte.

Samantha Gross besitzt einen Bachelor of Science in Chemieingenieurwesen von der University of Illinois, einen Master of Science in Umwelttechnik von der Stanford University und einen Master of Business Administration von der University of California in Berkeley.


Stand: 2020