Topics: Foreign and Security Policy
Education
International Development
Peace and Human Rights
Political Order and Governance (worldwide)
Economics
Civil Society and Social Change
Regional focus: Global
Middle East and North Africa
Sub-Saharan Africa
Origin: Nigeria
Fellowship: Richard von Weizsäcker Fellow

Obiageli “Oby” Katryn Ezekwesili, who was candidate for the office of the President of Nigeria in the 2019 election, is an economic policy expert and senior economic advisor at the Africa Economic Development Policy Initiative (AEDPI) and co-founder of the #BringBackOurGirls movement as well as the #RedCardMovement in Nigeria.

Ezekwesili was Vice President of the World Bank's Africa division and is former Nigerian Minister of Education, Minister of Solid Minerals, head of the Budget Monitoring and Price Intelligence Unit as well as former chairperson of the Nigerian Extractive Industry Transparency Initiative (NEITI). She is also founding director of Transparency International.

For her work and her social commitment, Ezekwesili was decorated with the national award of Commander of the Order of the Federal Republic (CFR) of Nigeria. In 2016, the University of Essex Business School awarded her an honorary doctorate degree in business in recognition of her role in promoting economic and social justice in African countries. In 2015, she was recognized by Time Magazine as one of the Time-100 Most Influential People and by New York Times as one of the 25 Women of Impact. In 2018, she was nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize.

She holds an MA in International Law and Diplomacy, an MA in Public Policy and Administration from the Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University.


Last updated: 2019

Themen: Außen- und Sicherheitspolitik
Bildung
Entwicklungspolitik
Frieden und Menschenrechte
Politische Ordnung (weltweit)
Wirtschaft
Zivilgesellschaft und gesellschaftlicher Wandel
Regionale Schwerpunkte: Global
Nahost und Nordafrika
Sub-Sahara Afrika
Herkunft: Nigeria
Fellowship: Richard von Weizsäcker Fellow

Obiageli "Oby" Katryn Ezekwesili, ehemalige Präsidentschaftskandidatin Nigerias bei den Wahlen im Jahr 2019, ist Expertin für Wirtschaftspolitik und Senior Economic Advisor bei der Africa Economic Development Policy Initiative (AEDPI) und Mitbegründerin der #BringBackOurGirls Bewegung sowie der #RedCardMovement in Nigeria.

Ezekwesili war Vizepräsidentin der Weltbank (Region Afrika) sowie ehemalige Bildungsministerin, Ministerin für feste Mineralien, Vorsitzende der Budget Monitoring and Price Intelligence Unit sowie ehemalige Vorsitzende der Nigerian Extractive Industry Transparency Initiative (NEITI). Sie ist ebenfalls Gründungsdirektorin von Transparency International.

Für ihre Arbeit und ihr soziales Engagement wurde Ezekwesili 2016 mit dem nationalen Preis des Commander of the Order of the Federal Republic (CFR) Nigerias ausgezeichnet. In demselben Jahr verlieh ihr die University of Essex Business School die Ehrendoktorwürde der Wirtschaft als Anerkennung für ihre Rolle bei der Förderung wirtschaftlicher und sozialer Gerechtigkeit in afrikanischen Ländern. Darüber hinaus wurde sie vom Time Magazine als eine der 100 einflussreichsten Personen und von der New York Times als eine der 25 bedeutendsten Frauen anerkannt. 2018 wurde sie für den Friedensnobelpreis nominiert. 

Sie besitzt einen Master-Abschluss in internationalem Recht und Diplomatie und studierte Public Policy and Administration an der Harvard Kennedy School of Government.


Stand: 2019