Topics: Culture, Creativity and Urbanism
Science and Technology
Regional focus: Asia and the Pacific
Europe
Origin: Japan
Fellowship: Richard von Weizsäcker Fellow

Ken’ichi Mishima served at the University of Osaka as Chair Holder for Modern Philosophy and Comparative Studies of Civilization. Since receiving his Bachelor of Arts and a Master of Arts from the University of Tokyo, he has spent years in Tokyo, Tubingen, Bonn, Osaka, and Heidelberg as a scholar and professor. In the academic year 1994/1995, he was a fellow at the Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin.

Ken’ichi Mishima has published many books and essays about German philosophers. His research interests particularly lie in Friedrich Nietzsche, Walter Benjamin, and important members of the Frankfurt School. Another focus of his academic research is modernization theory.

His current research project focuses on the discussions about "multiple modernities". Partly influenced by postcolonial theory, he has explored aspects of "entangled modernities“, an idea originally coined by Shalini Randeria.

In 1987, Ken’ichi Mishima was awarded with the Philipp Franz von Siebold Prize by the Bundespräsident Richard von Weizsäcker for his contributions to German-Japanese intellectual exchange. In 2001, he received the Eugen-und-Ilse-Seibold-Prize, which is awarded to Japanese and German scientists for their outstanding contribution to enhancing mutual understanding. 

Last update: 2017

Themen: Kultur, Kreativität und Urbanistik
Wissenschaft und Technik
Regionale Schwerpunkte: Asien und Pazifik
Europa
Herkunft: Japan
Fellowship: Richard von Weizsäcker Fellow

Ken'ichi Mishima war Inhaber des Lehrstuhls für Philosophie der Neuzeit und Vergleichende Kulturwissenschaft an der Universität in Osaka. Nachdem er seinen Bachelor sowieo seinen Master of Arts von der Universität Tokio erhielt, verbrachte er als Forscher und Professor Aufenthalte in Heidelberg, Tübingen, Bonn, Tokio, und Osaka. Während des Akademischen Jahres 1994/1995 war er Fellow am Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin.

Ken'ichi Mishima veröffentlichte zahlreiche Bücher und Essays über verschiedene deutsche Philosophen. Neben Friedrich Nietzsche und Walter Benjamin befasst er sich vor allem mit bedeutenden Akteuren der Frankfurter Schule. Außerdem zählt die Modernisierungstheorie zu seinen Forschungsschwerpunkten.

Sein aktuelles Forschungsprojekt setzt sich  mit der Dikussion um "Multiple Modernities" auseinander. Beinflusst von postkolonialen Theorien erforscht Ken'ichi Mishima Aspekte der "Entangled Modernities" einer ursprünglich von Shalini Danderia stammenden Idee.

1987 erhielt Ken'ichi Mishima den Philipp Franz von Siebold-Preis für seine besonderen Verdienste zur Verbesserung des intellektuellen Austausches zwischen Deutschland und Japan. Im Jahr 2001 wurde ihm der Eugen-und-Ilse-Seibold Preis überreicht, der japanische und deutsche Wissenschaftler auszeichnet, die in besonderer Weise zum Verständnis des jeweils anderen Landes beigetragen haben.

 

Stand: 2017