Topics: Social Change
Media
Regional focus: Europe
Origin: Poland
Fellowship: Richard von Weizsäcker Fellow

Karolina Wigura is a historian, sociologist and political editor of Kultural Liberalna, Poland’s leading online political and cultural weekly.

She is lecturer at Warsaw University's Institute of Sociology and focuses on the political philosophy of the 20th century and emotions in politics, as well as sociology and ethics of memory, particularly transitional justice, historical guilt, and reconciliation. From 2016 to 2018, she was a co-director of the Polish Programme in St. Antony's College at University of Oxford.

Wigura was awarded fellowships at Institute of Advanced Studies in Berlin, Institute of Human Sciences in Vienna, German Marshall Fund, and St. Antony's College at University of Oxford. In 2008, she received the Grand Press prize for her interview with Jürgen Habermas "Europe in death paralysis."

She is the author of The Guilt of Nations: Forgiveness as a Political Strategy (2011) and The Invention of Modern Heart: Philosophical Sources of Contemporary Thinking of Emotions (2019) – both in Polish. Her work has also been published in The Guardian, The New York Times, Neue Zuercher Zeitung, Gazeta Wyborcza, and other periodicals.

Wigura studied sociology, philosophy, and political science at University of Warsaw and University of Munich. She received her doctorate and habilitation from University of Warsaw.


Last updated: 2021

Themen: Gesellschaftlicher Wandel
Medien
Regionale Schwerpunkte: Europa
Herkunft: Polen
Fellowship: Richard von Weizsäcker Fellow

Karolina Wigura ist Historikerin, Soziologin und politische Redakteurin von Kultural Liberalna, Polens führender politischer und kultureller Online-Wochenzeitung.

Sie ist Dozentin am Institut für Soziologie der Universität Warschau und beschäftigt sich mit der politischen Philosophie des 20. Jahrhunderts, Emotionen in der Politik sowie mit der Soziologie und Ethik von Erinnerung, insbesondere mit Übergangsjustiz, historischer Schuld und Versöhnung. Von 2016 bis 2018 war sie Co-Direktorin des Polnischen Programms am St. Antony's College der University of Oxford.

Wigura erhielt Fellowships vom Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin, dem Institut für die Wissenschaften vom Menschen in Wien, dem German Marshall Fund und dem St. Antony's College der University of Oxford. 2008 erhielt sie den Großen Pressepreis für ihr Interview mit Jürgen Habermas "Europa in der Todeslähmung".

Sie ist die Autorin von The Guilt of Nations: Forgiveness as a Political Strategy (2011) und The Invention of Modern Heart: Philosophical Sources of Contemporary Thinking of Emotions (2019) – beide auf Polnisch. Ihre Arbeiten wurden u.a. in The Guardian, The New York Times, Neue Zürcher Zeitung, Gazeta Wyborcza und anderen Zeitschriften veröffentlicht.

Wigura studierte Soziologie, Philosophie und Politikwissenschaft an der Universität Warschau und der Universität München. Anschließend promovierte und habilitierte sie an der Universität Warschau.


Stand: 2021