Topics: Peace and Human Rights
International Relations
Regional focus: Europe
Origin: France
Fellowship: Richard von Weizsäcker Fellow

Harlem Désir is a French politician, who served as the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE) Representative on Freedom of the Media from 2017 to 2020. In this function, he provided early warnings on violations of freedom of expression and the media, and promoted full compliance of the 57 OSCE participating states with media freedom commitments.

From 2014 to 2017, Désir was French Minister of State for European Affairs in the foreign ministry. During his tenure, Désir was involved in numerous European negotiations, in particular those of the Paris Climate Agreement, on migration policy, and youth employment. He represented France at numerous international meetings, including the UN General Assembly, the Council of Europe, and the UN Human Rights Council.

From 1999 to 2014, Désir was a Member of the European Parliament. He was a member of the Committee on Industry, Energy and Research; the Employment and Social Affairs; and the Committee on Development. From 2012 to 2014, Désir served as First Secretary of the French Socialist Party.

Besides his political career, Désir is engaged in civil society activities. He is the founding president of the French NGO “SOS Racisme”, and recently, he was the Executive Director of the Forum on Information & Democracy, an international NGO.

Désir holds a Bachelor's Degree in philosophy from the Paris I Sorbonne University. He has been awarded the Olof Palme Prize (Sweden, 1990), the Grand Cross of the Order of the Phoenix (Greece, 2016), and the Knight Commander's Cross of the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany (Germany, 2018).


Last updated: 2021

Themen: Frieden und Menschenrechte
Internationale Beziehungen
Regionale Schwerpunkte: Europa
Herkunft: Frankreich
Fellowship: Richard von Weizsäcker Fellow

Harlem Désir ist ein französischer Politiker, der von 2017 bis 2020 als Beauftragter für Medienfreiheit der Organisation für Sicherheit und Zusammenarbeit in Europa (OSZE) tätig war. In dieser Funktion gab er Frühwarnungen zu Verstößen gegen die Meinungs- und Medienfreiheit ab und setzte sich für die vollständige Einhaltung der Verpflichtungen zur Medienfreiheit durch die 57 OSZE-Staaten ein.

Von 2014 bis 2017 war Désir französischer Staatsminister für europäische Angelegenheiten im Außenministerium. Während seiner Amtszeit war Désir an zahlreichen europäischen Verhandlungen beteiligt, insbesondere an denen des Pariser Klimaabkommens, zur Migrationspolitik sowie zur Bekämpfung der Jugendarbeitslosigkeit. Er vertrat Frankreich bei zahlreichen internationalen Treffen, unter anderem bei der UN-Generalversammlung, dem Europarat und dem UN-Menschenrechtsrat.

Zwischen 1999 und 2014 war Désir Mitglied des Europäischen Parlaments. Er war Mitglied im Ausschuss für Industrie, Energie und Forschung, im Ausschuss für Beschäftigung und soziale Angelegenheiten sowie im Entwicklungsausschuss. Von 2012 bis 2014 diente Désir als Erster Sekretär der Sozialistischen Partei Frankreichs.

Neben seiner politischen Karriere engagiert sich Désir in der Zivilgesellschaft. Er ist Gründungspräsident der französischen NGO "SOS Racisme" und war zuletzt Geschäftsführer der internationalen NGO Forum on Information & Democracy.

Désir hat einen Bachelor-Abschluss in Philosophie von der Universität Paris I Sorbonne. Er wurde mit dem Olof-Palme-Preis (Schweden, 1990), dem Großkreuz des Phönix-Ordens (Griechenland, 2016) und dem Ritterkreuz des Verdienstordens der Bundesrepublik Deutschland (Deutschland, 2018) ausgezeichnet.


Stand: 2021