Topics: Peace and Human Rights
Media
Civil Society and Social Change
Regional focus: Middle East and North Africa
Origin: Morocco
Fellowship: Richard von Weizsäcker Fellow

Aboubakr Jamaï is the Dean of The School of Business and International Relations at the Institute For American Universities (IAU College) in Marseille. He is the co-editor of the Moroccan news website lakome.com. Mr. Jamaï began his career in finance, co-founding Morocco's first independent investment bank in 1993. After two years advising international emerging market funds with holdings in North Africa, the company, Upline Securities, became the first Moroccan-based bank ever selected to manage a privatization project in Morocco. In 1996, he joined the Executive Secretariat of the Middle East and North Africa Economic Summit as a financial and economic adviser. This organization was set up by the sponsors of the Middle East peace process to foster economic cooperation in the region.

From 1997 to 2007, Aboubakr Jamaï was the publisher and editor the leading Moroccan newsweekly, Le Journal hebdomadaire. In 2008 he was a visiting Scholar at the University of San Diego where he taught courses on International Journalism, Political Islam and Politics in The Middle East. His articles were published in The New York Times, Time Magazine, El Pais, Le Monde, Le Monde Diplomatique. Aboubakr Jamaï won the Committee To Protect Journalists’ International Press Freedom Award in 2003. In January 2008, he won the first Newhouse School of communication at Syracuse University’s “Tully Center Free Speech Award”. In December 2010, he won the Gebran Tueni Award, the annual prize of the World Association of Newspapers and News Publishers (WAN-IFRA).

Aboubakr Jamaï has been selected by the World Economic Forum as a Young Global Leader for 2005. He was a Yale World Fellow in 2004 at Yale University. He was a Nieman Fellow in 2007 at the Nieman Foundation for Journalism and a Mason Fellow in 2008 at Harvard University. He holds a Master of Business Administration from Oxford University’s Saïd Business School and a Master of Public Administration from Harvard Kennedy School.     

 

Last updated: 2015

Themen: Frieden und Menschenrechte
Medien
Zivilgesellschaft und gesellschaftlicher Wandel
Regionale Schwerpunkte: Nahost und Nordafrika
Herkunft: Marokko
Fellowship: Richard von Weizsäcker Fellow

Aboubakr Jamaï ist Dekan der School of Business and International Relations am Institute for American Universities (IAU College) in Marseille. Darüber hinaus ist er Co-Herausgeber und Gründer der marokkanischen Nachrichtenseite lakome.com. Seine berufliche Laufbahn begann Aboubakr Jamaï im Finanzwesen. 1993 war er Mitbegründer der ersten unabhängigen Investmentbank Marokkos. Zwei Jahre lang beriet das Unternehmen – Upline Securities – internationale Emerging-Market-Fonds mit Beteiligungen in Nordafrika, bevor es als erste marokkanische Bank überhaupt mit dem Management eines Privatisierungsprojekts in Marokko betraut wurde. 1996 kam er als Finanz- und Wirtschaftsberater zum Executive Secretariat des Nahost/Nordafrika-Wirtschaftsgipfels. Diese Organisation war von den Förderern des Nahostfriedensprozesses ins Leben gerufen worden, um die wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit in der Region voranzutreiben.

Von 1997 bis 2007 war Aboubakr Jamaï Herausgeber und Redakteur von Le Journal hebdomadaire, dem führenden wöchentlichen Nachrichtenmagazin in Marokko. Als Gastdozent hielt er 2008 an der University of San Diego Lehrveranstaltungen in den Bereichen internationaler Journalismus, politischer Islam und Politik im Nahen Osten ab. Seine Artikel wurden in der The New York Times, im Time Magazine sowie in El Pais, Le Monde und Le Monde Diplomatique veröffentlicht. 2003 erhielt Aboubakr Jamaï den International Press Freedom Award des Committee To Protect Journalists. Im Januar 2008 wurde er mit dem erstmals vergebenen Tully Center Free Speech Award der Newhouse School of Communication an der Syracuse University ausgezeichnet. Im Dezember 2010 würdigte die World Association of Newspapers and News Publishers (WAN-IFRA) Aboubkar Jamaï mit dem jährlich ausgelobten Gebran Tueni Award.

Das Weltwirtschaftsforum wählte ihn 2005 zum Young Global Leader. 2004 war er Yale World Fellow der Universität Yale. 2007 war er Nieman Fellow der Nieman Foundation for Journalism; 2008 Mason Fellow an der Universität Harvard. Aboubkar Jamaï hat einen Masterabschluss in BWL von der Saïd Business School der Universität Oxford sowie einen Master in öffentlicher Verwaltung der Harvard Kennedy School.

 

Stand: 2015